Ontario Kentucky Province

The Ontario Kentucky Province, the founding province of the Congregation of the Resurrection in North America, began August 14, 1857. At the invitation of the local bishop, Father Eugene Funcken C.R. came from Europe to St. Agatha Parish in St. Agatha, Ontario. He was followed to North America by his brother Father Louis Funcken C.R. In 1865, Fr. Louis founded St. Jerome’s College also in St. Agatha.

Today, the 60 men who constitute the O-K Province serve in a wide variety of apostolates. Among these are 13 English and Polish parishes located in Canada and Bermuda. Some of our religious work in education at the secondary, university and adult education levels. Special talents call some religious to special ministries: among these are social work, chaplaincies, diocesan personnel work, international and provincial community administration and vocation promotion. Many of our senior members specialize in the apostolate of prayer and part time ministry in parishes and adult faith formation.

Bogdan Janski, our founder, believed we should be open to fulfilling any need in the church. His approach enables us to embrace members with a wide variety of talents and also to respond to a wide variety of apostolic opportunities. Through the prudent use of all our gifts and opportunities we strive to be a sign of hope to others and to work for the resurrection of society.

Click here to visit Ontario Kentucky Province website.